Almost no smokers will admit this, but, in teen age, smoking cultivates a certain image that appeals to certain types of people (including non-smokers). Even though smoking is largely stigmatized in the mainstream nowadays, there is still a romantic/rebellious image that continues to draw people to it.

I mean, would Clint Eastwood in The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly look as badass if he didn’t smoke?

What about Tony Soprano? Or Ray Liotta in Goodfellas? Or Brad Pitt in Fight Club?

Couple Argue Over Car Smoking

It’s just one of those stupid, destructive behaviors that society at large still unconsciously glamorizes, just like alcohol abuse and getting into fights. Yes, consciously we know that it’s immature and harmful. But, somehow, seeing someone who “deserves it” getting decked still makes us root for the person who couldn’t walk away from a fight. Likewise, smoking often has that same sort of subconscious rebel appeal.

Let’s see why young people smoke nowadays :

1. To impress women

Listen, I am a decent looking girl. I know many women ranging from average to stunning in looks. I or any of them will not be one bit impressed when we see you smoking. If you think “smoking” will get you a girl’s attention – you are mistaken.

Smoking is my first criteria in rejecting a guy. A tobacco kiss is nauseating. The smell of smoke is pathetic and a big put-off. Honestly, I cannot count the number of women who crib about their men smoking and how it reeks all the time.

2. To Look Cool & Slim 

Bullshit. Loads and loads of bullshit. No one likes a stinking pile of bones.

3. Stress / Depression / College Problems / Girl Problems / Health Problems

Be strong. That’s the only thing I can tell you. When you have a lot of time, the things that bother you magnify. You dwell on them way too much. You end up making stupid decisions.Remember, you are young now so you don’t give much thought to your health, but in ten years time – you will see the results of the abuse you inflict on your system now. We already depend so much on junk food and booze, don’t add to the list.

Misc. Reasons: Lots of time on your hands/ the bullshit concept of “smoke-breaks” / your partner smoking / need something to do / keeping your hands busy B.U.L.L.S.H.I.T.

But hey, don’t get me wrong . I am on the side who opposes smoking be at any age.

Oh yeah! You’re missing out on a lot of things!

1. Chances of an early death due to cancer and congestion

2. An addiction that you might later regret

3. Yellowish teeth

4. Pocket money crisis and begging your “co-smokers” to buy you one Cravings for a cigarette in the middle of the night

How can you miss out on all these, man? Just go out, light a cigarette and invite death on a date earlier than planned!

7 thoughts on “I don’t Smoke, am I missing something ?

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely
    return.

    Like

  2. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as
    nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

    Like

  3. A started smoking because of a show wherein the characters smoked. I loved that show. Loved it. So, I wanted to be part of that world, essentially. I continued to smoke for the next 15 years, despite wanting to quit, because I’ve lived an unfortunate life. I’ve never been at a stage where things were going well; smoking helped.

    Sure, I could force myself to quit. But when you have very little in life that fulfills you, sacrificing your physical health for your mental and emotional health, is a very good trade. I’d do it all again: who knows what kind of person I’d have turned into, if I didn’t have the peace that cigarettes gave me throughout the years?

    That being said, I don’t recommend smoking for everyone. If your life is hard, I do suggest it, however: its cost in physical health, and a little bit of money, is minor. But if someone decides to smoking, remember that it is extremely addictive. One of the strongest additions, apparently.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That has been the story of many people who were born in 80s or 90s who idolises someone who smoke and but louis there are million ways you can get peace like falling in love or pursue a career you love working in…..good to hear that you have quit smoking…cheers

      Like

      1. Indeed, those would be ideal ways to find peace. I’ve been trying to make them realities for a very long time, and meeting misfortune every step of the way.

        Some people are very lucky, and have love and success handed to them; some people are denied it despite working harder and smarter than others to find it. That’s the way of the world.

        Real smokers, not the ones who just do it to show off, make a simple choice: give up physical health for mental and emotional health. If you think about it, that’s a noble sacrifice to make.

        Like

Comments are closed.