I logged in on my Quora account from my Mac and I got a message saying it does not exist. First, I was using Reliance Jio Hotspot so I thought it can be because of that, so I switched to MTNL and again I got the same error. So I searched on google and found out that this is happening to Twitter , Reddit and many other websites.

As an avid internet user I clicked on various things, felt frustrated, experienced mild symptoms of withdrawal and finally resolved to put my tennis shoes on and go for a long walk in the sun. I roamed and got lunch and chatted with a friend and returned home several hours later to find a New York Times article with the developing story.

Later that day, I researched about this & found that the cause of all that was some hacker group and it was a DDoS (Distribution Denial of Service) attack in which multiple compromised systems, which are often infected with a Trojan, are used to target a single system causing a Denial of Service (DoS) attack.

But then I thought who will benefit from stopping these sites & what is common in these companies. I mean why only these companies. Why not Facebook or Google ?

So I dig deeper and I found out that all these companies use DNS services from a company named DYS who apparently claim that they can stop DDoS attacks on companies. Well bad for the company name for sure. It’s like a company’s safe is looted who provide high security to various offices and banks.

Although services were restored in 2 hours, Other affected sites, which serve millions of customers, reportedly included the crafts marketplace Etsy and the software developer site Github, according to the website Hacker News.

Knowledge of the Day : Domain Name Services are a crucial element of internet infrastructure, converting numbered Internet Protocol addresses into the domain names that allow users to connect to internet sites.

